newbie, 6 year old daewoo saloon in need of help.

N/A tech, Cold Air Intakes, Spark Plugs/wires, Cat backs, Exhaust...etc

Moderators: daewoomofo, Moderators Group

nate_silver

newbie, 6 year old daewoo saloon in need of help.

Post by nate_silver »

Hi,

my names Nate, and i just recently acquired a second hand daewoo lanos. well it was given to me by my uncle, in return for finishing the bank loan on the car. about 140 us$/mnth till 2008 april. its the asian version and steering is on the right hand.

i have been reading your forums for a while now looking for info but i have no experience in cars except driving them and taking them to service.

the car has 55000++ km on it and it takes a little while to start. not long just 1 min or so, it makes a a couple of noises than it starts. It also makes screeching noises time to time, coming from the belt.

now, so far i have replaced battery. spark plugs, some cables(dunno what they are called but they are right in front the engine, three of emm) i service it a bout every three months but now im going to start servicing it maybe every two months, cause its an old car and well i dare say the previous owner didnt take care of it too well.

the car runs fine.. a bit slow with a/c and when a/c is turned on sometimes belt screeches.

based on the info above is there anything in particular i should do, to keep it running okay. anything i should check or have checked?

on that note i everymorning i need to refill the coolant. is that bad? i use water but i go out a get actual coolant every two weeks.

i will post more info on the car soon. and some pics too. i would really like to know more about how to keep my car alive.

r.
nate
cpd
Super

Post by cpd »

Losing coolant sounds like the head gasket's blown.

Not to be offensive, but you got rorted by your uncle by the sounds of it. :?
Big Eye Pictures - Best art evar!
daewoomofo

Post by daewoomofo »

get the timing belt changed early!